31

SPOT: L’Oréal’s environmental and social assessment tool is a breakthrough for the cosmetics industry

In Action

SPOT the difference: enhancing Aqualia Thermal’s CSR performances

How do you go about improving the biodegradability and packaging of a cosmetic industry bestseller? Vichy successfully used L’Oréal’s sustainable product optimisation tool (SPOT) to enhance the social and environmental impact of Aqualia Thermal, a hydration cream. Elisa Simonpietri and Julien Prince, Vichy’s International Scientific Director and Technical Development Director respectively, tell us more.

Perspective

How can companies be CSR innovators?

Consulting firm Quantis France helps multinational firms navigate their environmental transition and is partnering L’Oréal on multiple projects. CEO Dimitri Caudrelier explains what companies need to do to change the game and why it’s in their interest to act quickly.

Strategy

SPOT: a unique tool that allows L’Oréal to measure improvements in product performances

How do you calculate a product’s environmental and social impact? Laurent Gilbert, Director of Sustainable Innovation at L’Oréal Research, explains how a cross-disciplinary team came up with SPOT. The tool, which is designed to monitor and optimise new Group products, is the only one of its kind in the consumer products industry.

31

SPOT, l’outil d’évaluation environnementale et sociale des produits L’Oréal : une 1ère dans l’industrie cosmétique

Le Terrain

SPOT au service de la performance RSE ? L’exemple d’Aqualia Thermal

Comment améliorer la biodégradabilité et le packaging d’un bestseller de l’industrie cosmétique ? Vichy a utilisé avec succès l’outil SPOT pour faire progresser l’impact social et environnemental de la crème Aqualia Thermal. Explications avec Elisa Simonpietri et Julien Prince, Directrice Scientifique Internationale et Directeur du Développement technique chez Vichy.

Le Décryptage

RSE : que doivent faire les entreprises pour innover ?

Partenaire de L’Oréal sur divers projets, le cabinet de conseil Quantis France accompagne les multinationales dans leur transition écologique. Son Directeur Général Dimitri Caudrelier nous explique ce que les entreprises doivent mettre en œuvre pour vraiment changer la donne. Et pourquoi elles ont intérêt à agir vite !

La Stratégie

Avec SPOT, L’Oréal mesure désormais l’amélioration de ses produits

Comment calculer l’empreinte environnementale et sociale d’un produit ? Laurent Gilbert, Directeur de l’Innovation Durable au sein de la Recherche L’Oréal, explique comment une équipe pluridisciplinaire a conçu SPOT : un outil de suivi et d’optimisation de tous les nouveaux produits du Groupe, sans équivalent dans la grande consommation.