Foundation

In Action

L’Oréal Foundation x UNESCO: 20 years, more than 3,000 women researchers and 3 Nobel Prizes

For more than 20 years, UNESCO and the L’Oréal Foundation have been working together to highlight women’s contribution to science around the world. Audrey Azoulay, the Director General of UNESCO and France’s former Minister of Culture, explains how she plans to make the ‘S’ in ‘UNESCO’ (United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization) more open to women.

Perspective

Making men more aware, to make science more feminine

Professor Cédric Villani, a mathematician at the Université Claude-Bernard Lyon 1, a member of France’s National Assembly for the LREM party and a former director of the Institut Poincaré, is among the men who are committed to supporting women in science. Faced with the vast over-representation of men in scientific disciplines, this Fields medal winner is actively campaigning to end the male domination of science.

Strategy

‘For Women in Science’ – 20 years on, the battle continues, but now with support from men

Faced with an unprecedented set of challenges, the world needs science as never before. And science needs women. To mark the 20th anniversary of the ‘For Women in Science’ programme, Alexandra Palt, Chief Corporate Responsibility Officer, Executive Vice President of the L’Oréal Foundation, tells us how the L’Oréal Foundation and UNESCO are continuing the struggle that began 20 years ago to promote women in science.

In Action

Doing beauty business to escape from exclusion: a new initiative from French NGO Apprentis d’Auteuil and the L’Oréal Foundation

Apprentis d’Auteuil has been working to support families and the youth in need since 1866. This month, by joining forces with the L’Oréal Foundation, it is launching a training programme that will give underprivileged people a fresh start in the beauty business.

Perspective

Learning to become a cook and the “chef” of your own life

Two-Michelin-starred chef and long-time judge on France’s Top Chef show, Thierry Marx also offers short and free culinary classes to help poverty stricken individuals get back into the workforce. Taking a break between services, he lets us in on his recipe for success.

Strategy

Beauty For A Better Life: beauty training as a lever to returning to work

Since its creation by the L’Oréal Foundation, the Beauty For a Better Life programme has helped almost 10,000 marginalized people worldwide to reintegrate society. Deputy CEO of the Foundation Florence Lafragette tells us more.

In Action

Story of a female Nobel Laureate

It is 8:00 am Pacific time and Elizabeth Blackburn, Nobel Laureate and President of the jury for the 2016 L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women In Science (FWIS) awards, which she won in 2008, takes time out to speak to us about the place of women in science.

Perspective

Getting more women into science: Interview with the President of the French Academy of Sciences

Eminent biologist, former head of the National Centre for Scientific Research (CNRS) and President of France’s Academy of Sciences, Professor Bernard Meunier is not interested in gender when it comes to science, only in excellence. In this interview he speaks about the past, present and future position of women in science.

Strategy

For Women In Science: promoting scientific role models

Through the For Women In Science (FWIS) programme, L‘Oréal Foundation hopes to offer a new generation of female role models to the scientists of the future. David Macdonald, Philanthropy Director for Women in Science at the Foundation explains how to raise the profile of successful women scientists.

Fondation

Le Terrain

Fondation L’Oréal x UNESCO : 20 ans, plus de 3 000 chercheuses et 3 prix Nobel

Depuis plus de 20 ans, l’UNESCO et la Fondation L’Oréal agissent ensemble pour mettre en lumière l’apport des femmes dans la science mondiale. La Directrice générale de l’UNESCO et ancienne Ministre de la Culture Audrey Azoulay explique comment elle entend conjuguer le « S » de l’UNESCO (United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization) au féminin.

Le Décryptage

Sensibiliser les hommes pour féminiser la science

Mathématicien à l’Université Claude-Bernard Lyon I, député LREM et ancien directeur de l’Institut Poincaré, le professeur Cédric Villani fait partie des hommes engagés pour les femmes et la science. Face au constat de l’ultra représentation masculine au sein des métiers scientifiques, le médaillé Fields milite pour la fin de l’hégémonie des hommes dans les sciences.

La Stratégie

Pour les Femmes et la Science, 20 ans après : le combat continue, cette fois avec l’appui des hommes

Face aux défis sans précédents auxquels elle est confrontée, l’humanité n’a jamais eu autant besoin de la science. Et la science besoin des femmes. À l’occasion du 20ème anniversaire du programme Pour les Femmes et la Science, Alexandra Palt, Directrice Générale en charge de la RSE et Directrice Générale de la Fondation L’Oréal, nous dit comment la Fondation L’Oréal va continuer ce combat engagé depuis 20 ans avec l’UNESCO pour promouvoir les femmes dans la science.

Le Terrain

Entreprendre dans la beauté pour sortir de l’exclusion : une initiative d’Apprentis d’Auteuil et de la Fondation L’Oréal

Depuis 1866, la fondation d’Apprentis d’Auteuil s’engage auprès des jeunes et des familles les plus fragiles. Ce mois-ci, elle lance avec la Fondation L’Oréal une formation pour aider les personnes en difficulté à entreprendre dans les métiers de la beauté. Reportage.

Le Décryptage

L’artisanat ou comment devenir le Chef de sa propre vie

Chef doublement étoilé, juré pendant cinq ans de l’émission Top Chef, Thierry Marx propose aussi des formations courtes, gratuites et qualifiantes aux métiers de cuisinier. Entre deux services, il nous livre sa recette pour aider les personnes en difficulté à retrouver le chemin de l’emploi.   

La Stratégie

Beauty For a Better Life : la formation aux métiers de la beauté comme levier de retour à l’emploi

Depuis sa création au sein de la Fondation L’Oréal, le programme Beauty For a Better Life a aidé près de 10 000 personnes à travers le monde à se réinsérer à la société. Directrice Générale Adjointe de la Fondation, Florence Lafragette raconte.

Le Terrain

Comment les femmes deviennent-elles prix Nobel ?

8 heures du matin heure du Pacifique, le prix Nobel Elizabeth Blackburn, Présidente de l’édition 2016 du programme L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women In Science – dont elle fut lauréate en 2008 -, « prend le temps » de nous dresser le portrait de ce que peut être la « femme scientifique ».

Le Décryptage

De la féminisation de la science, entretien avec le Président de l’Académie des sciences

Biologiste émérite, ancien directeur du CNRS et Président de l’Académie des sciences, le Professeur Bernard Meunier ne recherche qu’un seul « genre » de scientifique, celui qui excelle. Entretien sur la place des femmes dans la science hier, aujourd’hui et demain.

La Stratégie

For Women In Science : la fabrique à « modèles » scientifiques

Directeur Mécénat & Fondation axe science chez L’Oréal, David Macdonald soutient l’objectif de la Fondation : offrir aux scientifiques à venir une nouvelle génération de « role models » au féminin grâce au programme For Women In Science.