Research & Innovation

In Action

L’Oréal’s quest for 100% plant-based hair dyes

For over a decade, L’Oréal’s researchers have been on a ceaseless quest to develop a hair dye that is 100% plant-based, effective, ethical and suitable for home use as well as by professional stylists. Product Development Engineer Karl Wunsch tells us the story of an adventure in science that was full of challenges.

Perspective

Natural hair dyes: expert Delphine Courteille shares her insights on a booming market

Hairstylist Delphine Courteille’s client roster includes some of the biggest stars from fashion and the silver screen. She shares her expert insights on the booming market for natural hair dyes.

Strategy

100% plant-based hair dye, a flagship innovation for L’Oréal’s naturalness project

Over a century after Eugène Schueller devised the first safe hair dye, L’Oréal is launching its inaugural 100% plant-based hair colour collections in the shape of Botanéa by L’Oréal Professionnel and Color Herbalia by Garnier. These innovative products open up a new chapter in the history of the world’s leading cosmetics firm, says Éric Bône, L’Oréal’s International Director for Sustainable Innovation in Hair Products.

In Action

Smart Profile Uplift: the first ever anti-aging device inspired by mechanobiology

L’Oréal’s Research & Innovation has just completed the design of the first ever mechanobiology based skin device that delivers proven anti-aging effects. Elisa Caberlotto, Instrumental Cosmetics Project Manager for L’Oréal and a physicist by training, puts us in the picture.

Perspective

Mechanobiology: the new discipline that is revolutionising scientific research

Professor Benoît Ladoux co-leads the Cell Adhesion and Mechanics research group at the Institut Jacques Monod. He and his teams have been exploring the relatively uncharted territory of mechanobiology for a number of years. Read on to discover his vision of the mechanisms at work and the issues connected with the discipline.

Strategy

Beauty Devices: a definite way forward for cosmetics

More and more consumers have begun incorporating instrumental cosmetics in their beauty routines in recent years. Elisabeth Araujo, Chairwoman of L’Oréal Beauty Devices, tells us about the Group’s plans to win over this new market.

In Action

African beauty under L’Oréal’s microscope

The sector’s world number-one is not going to be left out as Africa’s beauty market explodes. L’Oréal is opening a center of research and innovation in Johannesburg to study needs, routines and trends among African consumers in situ. We met with Consumer Evaluation Manager Julia Gichuri at the Research Centre for Sub-Saharan Beauty to learn more.

Perspective

The middle class: the next engine of African growth?

Is an African middle class starting to take shape and, if so, will it be the next engine of growth? Clélie Nallet, a professor of political science specialising in Africa’s middle classes, shares her socio-economic vision of Africa today.

Strategy

L’Oréal’s African heartbeat

With the transfer of L’Oréal’s Research and Innovation Centre for African hair and skin to Johannesburg, Geoff Skingsley, Vice-President for Africa and the Middle East, tells us about the strategy followed by the world’s leading cosmetics firm in Sub-Saharan Africa.

In Action

Journey to the centre of your hair. A close-up look at L’Oréal research.

The best innovations take time, as proven by the sol-gel technology developed by L’Oréal research. Behind the odd-sounding name is a revolution for fine hair. Read on to learn why.

Perspective

To innovate is to survive: making the case for business research.

“The man of a thousand patents” – that’s what they call Jacques Lewiner, honorary scientific director of top science and engineering school ESPCI Paris Tech, physicist and successful entrepreneur. A mould-breaker who has worked all his life to promote accessible research, he says that businesses simply cannot opt out of investing in R&D.

Strategy

PRO FIBER by L’Oréal Professionnel: a major breakthrough that is widely acclaimed by women and hairdressers

PRO FIBER is an exclusive range of L’Oréal Professionnel haircare products based on a unique innovation derived from sol-gel technology. Anne-Laure Lecerf, International Managing Director at L’Oréal Professionnel, tells us the PRO FIBER backstory.

R&I

Le Terrain

Coloration 100% végétale : l’odyssée des chercheurs de L’Oréal

Pendant plus de dix ans, les chercheurs de L’Oréal ont travaillé sans relâche pour percer les mystères d’une coloration 100% végétale, performante et responsable, s’adressant aussi bien aux consommatrices à la maison qu’aux professionnels de la coiffure. Retour sur une aventure scientifique semée d’embûches avec Karl Wunsch, Ingénieur en développement de produits chez L’Oréal.

Le Décryptage

Coloration naturelle : l’experte coloriste Delphine Courteille dépeint un marché en plein boom

Delphine Courteille compte parmi sa clientèle quelques-unes des plus grandes stars de la mode et du cinéma. Son regard d’experte sur le marché en plein boom de la coloration naturelle.

La Stratégie

La coloration 100% végétale, l’innovation phare du chantier naturalité de L’Oréal

Plus de cent ans après la première teinture capillaire inoffensive mise au point par Eugène Schueller, L’Oréal lance ses premières colorations 100% végétales : Botanéa chez L’Oréal Professionnel et Color Herbalia chez Garnier. Pour Éric Bône, Directeur International Innovation Durable Capillaire de L’Oréal, cette innovation ouvre un nouveau chapitre de l’histoire du leader mondial.

Le Terrain

Smart Profile Uplift, le premier device anti-âge inspiré par la mécanobiologie

La Recherche & Innovation de L’Oréal vient de terminer la conception du premier instrument fondé sur la mécanobiologie de la peau aux effets anti-âge prouvés. Elisa Caberlotto, Project Manager au sein de la Cosmétique Instrumentale de L’Oréal et physicienne de formation, nous raconte. 

Le Décryptage

La mécanobiologie, la nouvelle discipline qui bouleverse la recherche scientifique

Co-leader du groupe de recherche Adhésion Cellulaire & Mécanique au sein de l’Institut Jacques Monod, le Professeur Benoît Ladoux et ses équipes explorent depuis plusieurs années le territoire encore peu connu de la mécanobiologie. Sa vision sur les mécanismes à l’œuvre et les enjeux liés à cette discipline.

La Stratégie

La beauté instrumentale : une voie d’avenir certaine pour la cosmétique

Depuis quelques années, la beauté instrumentale entre dans la routine d’un nombre croissant de consommateurs beauté. Elisabeth Araujo, Présidente de L’Oréal Beauty Devices, nous explique comment le Groupe entend conquérir ce nouveau marché.  

Le Terrain

La beauté africaine sous le microscope de L’Oréal

L’explosion de la consommation beauté en Afrique ne se fera pas sans le numéro un mondial du secteur. L’Oréal ouvre un centre de recherche et innovation à Johannesburg pour étudier in situ les besoins, routines, et tendances des consommatrices africaines. Rencontre dans le laboratoire de la beauté subsaharienne avec Julia Gichuri, « Consumer Evaluation Manager ».

Le Décryptage

Les classes moyennes : nouvel Eldorado de la croissance africaine ?

Une classe moyenne est-elle en train de naître en Afrique et si oui, doit-on y voir un nouvel Eldorado qui va tirer la croissance ? Clélie Nallet, Docteure en science politique spécialiste des classes moyennes africaines, nous livre sa vision socio-économique de l’Afrique d’aujourd’hui.

La Stratégie

Le cœur de L’Oréal bat aussi en Afrique

A l’occasion du transfert du centre de recherche et innovation de L’Oréal sur les cheveux africains et les peaux noires à Johannesburg, Geoff Skingsley, Vice-président de la zone Afrique Moyen-Orient, expose la stratégie du leader mondial de la cosmétique en Afrique Subsaharienne.

Le Terrain

Voyage au centre du cheveu. Les dessous de la recherche de L’Oréal.

Les meilleures innovations prennent du temps. La preuve avec la technologie « sol-gel » récemment mise à profit par la recherche de L’Oréal. Derrière ce nom étrange se cache une innovation rupturiste pour les cheveux fins. Voici pourquoi.

Le Décryptage

Innover, c’est survivre. Plaidoyer pour la recherche en entreprise.

« L’homme aux mille brevets ». C’est le surnom de Jacques Lewiner, Professeur honoraire à l’ESPCI Paris Tech, physicien et entrepreneur à succès. Pour ce personnage iconoclaste ayant œuvré toute sa vie pour une recherche décomplexée, investir dans la R&D n’est pas une option pour les entreprises.

La Stratégie

PRO FIBER de L’Oréal Professionnel, une innovation majeure plébiscitée par les femmes et les coiffeurs.

PRO FIBER est un soin exclusif de L’Oréal Professionnel fondé sur une innovation unique inspirée de la technologie des sol-gels. Anne-Laure Lecerf, Directrice Générale Internationale  L’Oréal Professionnel, nous raconte « l’épopée PRO FIBER ».